Home Ownership is Expensive!

From There to Here

housexpenses

Out of curiosity, I decided to add up all of our house related expenses from our last 22 months of home ownership. Now it’s important to note that these numbers DO NOT include our mortgage payment or utilities.

I wish I could say I was surprised to see the numbers in ink on paper, but the reality is I kind of expected it.

In 22 months we spent $6136.33 on our home, and I’m fairly sure there is at least another $1-2k possibly unaccounted for.

$6k on plumbing, washer and dryer repairs, lawn care, neighborhood dues, and decor.

WOW.

I can think of a lot of other things I would love to spend that money on than house stuff. Most of those “things” aren’t actually things, but experiences.

What would you do with an extra $6,000?

Leave a Reply

