Inspiration: the Boating Adventures of Ben and Dana

Our Explorations, Values Based Living

My brother Ben always had an adventurous streak. Whether it was fishing creeks around our town, riding dirt bikes on well-worn tracks in fields, or rebuilding the motors of junker cars, Ben understood that life is more enjoyable when you seek what truly matters. He taught me to swim, how to gut a fish, and has helped me pick out every car I’ve ever owned.

Today, he and his wife Dana own a Four Winns 268 Vista boat called Seapickle II that they take out for regular extended adventures around Lake Michigan and into Canada. What started years ago with a dinghy has evolved into a lifestyle for them, one in which they find themselves longing for the sea life when back home.

What inspires me most about these two is that they have discovered what makes them innately joyful. Ben and Dana have found a singular, overarching purpose to their lives and all decisions are made with their love of boating in mind.

Can you say the same about your own life? When my days are long with taking care of my kids, my aging home, and trying to fit in teaching four classes online, I often wonder if there is more to life. The glimmer of hope that is the full-time RV lifestyle makes me think that, yes, it is possible to not only find more but to live more. To live each day in accordance to mine and my family’s highest values.

We are still figuring this out. But with the encouragement and inspiration of others like Ben and Dana, I know that sooner or later we’ll find our way.

What are you passionate about? Have you found the true purpose to your life yet?

2 thoughts on “Inspiration: the Boating Adventures of Ben and Dana

  1. Hey Kate,

    Thanks for the shout out! I will have to show Ben… That was so sweet! I just finished a post about our 2nd visit to my favorite place in the world (Topaz Lake). While it made me miss it and long to be there again, it also reminded me of WHY we work so hard to live the life we love . Seeing the photos brought me back to a moment of so much joy that Ben and I experienced together. There’s just something about working hard, saving money, making sacrifices, planning, dreaming, and journeying there yourself that makes it so much more rewarding!

    I’m glad you’re blogging again! Now that I found it I’m looking forward to staying updated on your journey. (Although I guess we really should skype too) đŸ˜‰

    Talk to you soon,

    Dana

    Like

  2. Dana, I think the great thing about blogging is that it is a continual visual reminder of WHY you live the way that you do. And the fact that you two share in your love for travel makes it all the more amazing. I’m looking forward to checking out your post on Topaz Lake!

    Kate

    Like

Leave a Reply

