Why I Took My Homeschooled Daughter to Visit a Public School

Intuitive Homeschooling, Values Based Living

20160907_112143

So I had a total freak-out about a week ago and convinced myself I needed to send V to public school.

Seriously.

It all began when my workload with Cohesive Home started getting out of control. Then school was back in session at the university, and I began teaching four sections of humanities online. And all the while I was feeling rundown, and quite frankly, completely out of sorts. Cranky and tired. If you’re a parent, you get it (please tell me you get it!)

We weren’t homeschooling in the way that I envisioned. We also weren’t homeschooling the way others in my Instagram feed were doing it. You know what I’m talking about: circle time with carefully curated classics (ever so slightly watered down for the kindergarten set), inspiring art projects that would make a college level art student weep, engaging science experiments using nothing but baking soda, household products, and the kitchen table.

I convinced myself that 1) I was doing it ALL wrong and 2) my daughter would be happier in public school.

Why do we do this to ourselves? Why do I feel the need to compare everything I do to people that I don’t actually know?

Melissa, my Cohesive Home partner and BFF, tried to talk me off the ledge. But it didn’t work.

We went to visit the local elementary, which is perfectly nice and a very good school. V had a tummyache the whole time, and I was incredibly nervous and like “WTF are we doing!?”

So I saw Bad Moms with some of my fellow homeschooling mama friends, and they helped me get my head on straight over crappy burgers at a diner afterwards.

They encouraged me to quit worrying about what every other parent is doing and focus on what’s working for us.

You know, not to brag, but V is close to reading. She’s writing words on her own. She knows how to add and subtract, understands skip counting, and is fascinated by and gets the water cycle. And she’s only five. Five!

Just this morning she asked about why the days are getting shorter and colder, and Kirk gave her a demonstration of the earth spinning and rotating with a globe and a flashlight.

She created a “replica” of the stage in Sound of Music while listening to the soundtrack and acting out the scenes before breakfast, measured and made a french press of coffee, and helped serve breakfast.

My guess is that we’re all going to be okay. Homeschooling is difficult, but we can make it more complicated than it needs to be. And I’m going to quit being so hard on myself.

So for now, she won’t be going to public school. And we’re going to live out what we value: slow days full of educational opportunities, plenty of good books read aloud, and yes, some traditional learning at the table.

Who’s with me?

 

4 thoughts on “Why I Took My Homeschooled Daughter to Visit a Public School

  1. My daughter did one semester of public school and after only countless times about play time and she wasn’t getting school, I pulled her out. Here we are on our second grade year and we have just now found our niche. I have suffered from wondering if it would be easier to send them to public school or if I am doing it right. But then I see my 7 year old loving reading, asking for us to read our books together, and then I say oh my I must be doing it right. Then when she asked to learn about the ocean and Abraham Lincoln I was stoked. Before she never showed interest in learning.

    I too have seen these Instagram accounts but then I remember I myself only post the good things about my day. Not the fights, the not so “cool” looking parts of my day, and not the days where we just aren’t clicking. Social media is a blessing and a curse. We see only what people want us to see, the good stuff. I mean if your daughter was balling her eyes out because she just couldn’t understand something would you take a picture of it and post it?

    Momma you are doing good, you are doing what is best, and she will reap great benefits from it. From what you said she is doing already then she is doing AMAZING! So what she doesn’t show art show worthy art work? So what you don’t do circle time with curated classes!!!

    Like

  2. Bwahaha. I threaten to send my sons to public school pretty regularly, unfortunately. It is usually when they continually ignore me and I feel like they are learning nothing from me and don’t understand how easy they have it. They usually say, “No!!!” I am seriously really close to sending my older son to public school for 5th grade next year, but probably won’t do it. This is just what I go through every year. I do want to send them to one for high school, but for all I know things will change and we will change our minds. He is really a good boy and such, but his lack of focusing drives me nutty!! Somehow these two boys get their work done though, they know how to read and write, and they already seem better at math than I! It is tough, but definitely worth it.

    You’re not alone. I’m also a cranky homeschooling mama!

    Like

    1. Haha, glad I am not alone! It encourages me that you are farther along on the journey and perservering. Stick with it and I will try to too. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

